Post Scapular Fusion Surgery

It’s been 6 months since I got my left scapula surgically tied to my rib cage. In May of 2015 I had my right shoulder surgery and now I am done with both. To be honest, the surgery results are not really what I thought. There are actually a lot more issues than I expected. Since attaching my scapula to my rib cage causes my shoulders to be pulled back, I now have very broad shoulders. The problem with this is that so many shirts do not fit me. If its a tight material that’s not stretchy, it is impossible to get on. This is also due to the fact that I cannot lift either arm above about 150 degrees above my head. This makes it hard to slide something over my head. Another issue I’ve noticed is that when I lean against a hard surface it is very painful. The wires seem to poke into my skin which causes the pain. I am hoping to fix this with a quick surgery though. What’s also weird is that my back has been extremely itchy since December, which is very odd.

Although there are so many downsides to this surgery, I still believe it was worth it. I can now wear shirts that show my back which I’ve never done before. My bra straps actually stay on my shoulders instead of falling down like they used to and it makes life a lot easier.  I also know that in the future, this will be worth it because I will be able to lift my hand to my face (like with drinking or eating) which is something that my grandpa could not do. I know that I did the right thing by getting this surgery done and overall, I am happy with the results.

If you are getting the surgery or want to know more about it, email me: alexipappas19@gmail.com

One thought on “Post Scapular Fusion Surgery

Leave a Reply

