SheLift

“I literally can’t even.” – something I’ve heard come out of the mouths of my friends, strangers and girls online. Some people have even used this sentence to stereotype sorority girls. I am one of those sorority girls, and although I have never used that specific sentence before, I have said something similar.

“I can’t” is something I say very often. When my friends are running across the street to avoid the rain and they say, let’s run….I say, “I can’t.” When someone asks me to go hiking on Mt. Washington I say, “I can’t.” Those two words are ones that 10 years ago, I would never use. I used to be able to do anything. I could run miles, hike up steep hills, rock climb, do backflips. I was strong and able to do pretty much anything I set my mind to. Now, I feel limited. Because of my FSH Muscular Dystrophy, I am unable to do most normal things, like run, jump, skip, hike, bend over, bend backwards…the list goes on.

When I first saw Sarah Herron wearing a shirt that said “Maybe you literally can even”, I honestly thought she was making fun of those sorority girls who say “I literally can’t.” I went on for months seeing these bachelor celebs wearing these shirts, but I never really looked into the meaning. Finally, about two weeks ago, I did some research. I was pleasantly surprised when I found out that their mission is to empower women of all ages with disabilities. This is an organization that I knew I couldn’t let pass by. I read all parts of their website and then I bought a shirt.

img_6690

It’s so exciting to see a nonprofit company supporting women with disabilities! Not just one disability, but all disabilities. I always think of all the things I wish I could do, like ski again, or hike through the Appalachians, or rock climb, and now an organization is helping young women like me, do these things. To me, having a disability does not mean that you are unable to do things, it just means that you have to work harder than your peers to do the things you want most in life. I used to let my disability define who I was, but now I use it to empower others. I want others to see that you can follow your dreams even though you may be limited physically. Raising awareness about FSHD and disabilities in general is my goal in life. Inspiring others is my passion.

3 thoughts on “SheLift

  1. Hi Lexi! My name is Niki! I found your blog by chance through YouTube. I also have FSHD. When I read your posts, it was amazing because I have a lot of the same thoughts and struggles as you. I’ve never met someone else with FSHD, let alone someone with FSHD who is also around the same age as me. Feel free to email me and hopefully we can talk some more!

  2. Thankyou for writing about your FSHD, i’m 21 and also have it – reading about others experiences definitely makes me feel less like an alien xo

Leave a Reply

